News   May 23, 2024
 323     0 
News   May 23, 2024
 558     0 
News   May 22, 2024
 1.1K     1 

Metrolinx: Presto Fare Card

In your case, did it beep and the screen give the check mark?

Could have been a motor issue. Damn those motors!
As an electronic tech, I have to question how that could happen unless there's no confirmation of movement sensing in that operation. And if not, what else could not be fulfilling the command and yet the customer charged? They must be sensing on the electrical input, not the mechanical output, which could be done with a very simple mechanical or light interrupted function sensor. Even a magnetic sensor like a Hall Effect one. (as used in computer keyboards). Same circuit could/should be used to sustain/repeat the task until confirmed completed.

I was making the argument for just using basic machine code for them, but others pointing out the computer code. So when even bog simple machine code is almost always tasked with sensing the objective being completed, how couldn't computer code? Someone's asleep at the switch, literally.

I predict further problems with those gates.

Last edited:
So clear, I just Googled for twenty minutes and couldn't find that. I have seen it before, which is why I end-up arguing with drivers, who've been instructed not to do so, about getting on without tapping.
Recently? I normally board at the front doors, and don't tap. I did have one difficult driver on a temporary unscheduled 506 replacement bus in early January - but I can see why they might not have been propertly trained. Or are you talking about non-500 series routes?

But yes, you shouldn't have to be the expert on the rules. I didn't Google BTW, I simply went to TTC's web site, and went to Fares&Passes/Presto Frequently Asked Questions/Presto on TTC Streetcars.

... at one point challenging the driver "Are you denying my boarding with a valid fare?"