9.1K     2 
News   May 24, 2024
 1.3K     0 
News   May 24, 2024
 492     0 

UNB

F

fiendishlibrarian

Anyone here familiar with the University of New Brunswick (St. John campus)? Looks like I may interview for a position there.

St. John is a nice hilly town. Lately i've been wearing a scarf that is New Brunswick tartan. I don't know anything about UNB.

I’m very familiar with UNB's Saint John campus (UNBSJ) as I’m a graduate and my dad is a prof there.

UNBSJ is still a bit of a poor cousin to the larger, more established Fredericton campus; however, it is stronger in a number of areas such as business and nursing, to name a few. It has been trying to get a med school for years (it was built next to a hospital for this reason) and has been growing pretty steadily.

The number of foreign students as a percentage of the student body has increased dramatically over the last few years (mostly from China). People are inevitably pretty surprised at how international the school has become given its location.

The location, overlooking the St. John River, is pretty, but the campus is very unremarkable architecturally. The best thing about the buildings is that they are all connected by underground tunnels.

In terms of the library, it’s pretty small and I have heard in the past that there were plans to expand, but this may have just been rumour. The staff seemed pretty friendly the last time I was there about 5 years ago.

Saint John does have an interesting old Victorian downtown (referred to as uptown; nothing is referred to as downtown in SJ), but UNBSJ is nowhere near it. There have been proposals to start an uptown campus, but I don’t think anything is moving forward. The school is in Milledgeville, which is a good 20 minute drive or 30 minute bus ride away. Milledgeville has a bit of a student ghetto, but is very car-oriented. You really need a car here as the rocky topography has led to the city being spread out pretty awkwardly.