News   Jul 16, 2024
 163     0 
News   Jul 15, 2024
 913     3 
News   Jul 15, 2024
 1K     1 

Advice on What to Do With my Life (Midlife Crisis?)

Wiggy

Member Bio
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am fishing for some suggestions so maybe if you have some time to spare you can post your input.

I am 29. I graduated as a teacher 2 years ago and have been working as a sub but I hate it. The work is far from steady, full time positions are nearly impossible to get, and future prospects for stable work does not look promising for new teachers due to a number of reasons I won't bore you with. Basically I am done with it.

I am smart (or at least have some papers that indicate I am smart). I worked hard at university, spent 6 years there and have 2 bachelors degrees and believe I could easily shift into another career here, possibly with a government agency. I am confident I could land a decent job that will give me security.

The problem is, is that I have an opportunity to move to Greece and try out a life over there, on an island no less.

My biggest worry is that if I go over there for 5 years, and fail or find out it's not for me, I will be in my mid 30's with little money and will be starting from scratch again. With the cost of living, real estate etc, I feel like I will be seriously hurting my future security if things don't work out over there.

On the other hand, I have had a taste of what it's like to be a working 'professional' and I am not sure I like it so much. The thought of working and living in a country that seems to value the balance of work and living so much more is very appealing, not to mention the weather, food, people, water etc. The medical is private there but if anything major happens, I could always move back to Canada.

I do have family over there, so it's not as scary as a blind leap, but it's still a bit frightening for me, albeit a unique and exciting opportunity.

Anyone out there who has any wisdom to share? I'd love to hear it.