News   Jun 28, 2024
 1.6K     2 
News   Jun 28, 2024
 603     1 

UT Design Charette: 469 Palmerston Blvd

UrbanSustainability

Member Bio
Reaction score
I’ve been frequenting UT for some time now, and have been fascinated with the passion that some members have for Toronto and its real estate/planning scene. The knowledge of projects, nodes, hearings, approvals and rejections is spectacular, and as a real estate professional, I have benefited greatly from this site.

Background:
469 Palmerston Blvd, located in the Annex between Harbord and Bloor, is known historically as the “George Weston House”. 469 is a heritage site, built on two lots; and contains a 2,000-ft 2 storey coach house (housing 2 apartments) with parking for 6 cars at the rear of the house. 469 currently houses 10 apartments (ranging from 850-1250sq-ft).

The Concept:
The proposal is for this Manor to be converted to a 6 unit condominium project. Cutting the apartments from 10 to 6 will create larger spaces, and also allow for lockers. The building was renovated in 2001, and is built to condo spec.

Having seen the comparables within the local area, as well as taking into consideration sq-ft prices for high-end condos in Downtown Toronto, the target price per sq-ft is in the $1000 range. Others are doing higher, but for the sake of conservatism, $1000 sq-ft will be assumed.

To achieve this target price, 469 will have to be “reconceptualised” by a well-known architect, with interiors undertaken by a competent and reputable firm/designer. David Adajye as the architect and Alexander McQueen as the interior designer seem like a great duo to me ;-) The plan is for the interior designers to fit-out the apartments completely; from furniture/furnishings to electronics. Buyers will also be able to provide their inputs to create a “bespoke” interior feel.