News   Sep 10, 2024
 525     0 
News   Sep 09, 2024
 1.2K     0 

Question re: Price per Square Foot Downtown

Chiggs@mac.com

Member Bio
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to this business and have a general question regarding the price paid per square foot for downtown condos. Specifically, I just don't understand the differences in price per square foot between some buildings that are very close to each other.

Specific comparison - I was chatting with a real estate agent at Cityplace and she told me that mid level floors in Parade are pre-selling at about $550 per square foot. Lower floors were closer to $535 with the top floors approaching $600 per square foot.

I live at Cityplace and have been in 4-5 of the buildings. They are nice enough but the standard finishes are just that - standard. Nothing wrong with them but nothing to make them stand out.

Compared to Cityplace, there is West Harbour City. It's a few hundred yards further away from the core yet sells for about $100 less per square foot. Units on the upper floors which are about the same height as the mid-level floors at Cityplace are selling for about $450 per square foot.

I think that if anything, the finishes at WHC are nicer, parking is included in the price, and they building still has a pool and nice features. Can anyone explain why the huge price difference?

price of materials and labour has gone up. It's not cheap so it would be reflected in the prices. The older buildings are old so they might not look as nice outside as the new buildings. Also maintenance fees will be higher too. As buildings age, maintenance fees will go up. The newer buildings also have better/more amenities. If you're looking for a place to live by the lake, nothing wrong with the harbour castle area. They're old and reliable. (Over 10 years old and seems no complaint?) But Matrix (10 years old?) is suing city place.