News   Jul 16, 2024
 458     0 
News   Jul 16, 2024
 562     2 

Career in Real Estate Industry

M

Mortamer

Hey all
Love the site, new user here looking for a little feedback.
What you you guys think of a career in Toronto Real Estate right now?
I almost made the jump a year ago, and curious if you think that the current
economy has changed so much that its not worth the chance?
My interest is mainly starting in a Mortgage Brokerage.

Thanks for all the info

Hey Mortamer,

I'm taking courses now but have been over the year or so and now am wondering if it was the right decision. Not sure if now is the time to dive in....but also looking at the other side of it..maybe now is the best time to get in - trying to look for the silver lining...

Mortamer, I work as an appraiser. I deal with quite a few mortgage brokers. They seem to come and go. My observation is that you should associate yourself with a large brokerage until you can get at least a year or two of solid experience, and get to know who's who in the business. This business depends quite a bit on interpersonal connections, and if you don't have those yet it will take you a bit of time to become established.

Real Estate Girl, again from just personal observations (somewhat limited): we seem to be going back to having a lot of agents working on a part-time basis. The sales volume numbers are ugly at the moment and simple math tells you that many, many agents are going for weeks at a time without making a sale. If you have something else that you could do at the same time as sales, preferably with flexible hours, I would say, go for it! Best wishes.

Thanks a lot for your insight.
Yes I currently work f-t in another industry and will likely try it out on a p/t basis to start and take your advice, get to know who's who and establish some solid connections before making this a f/t thing.
I have heard that the numbers are not so good right now.....

-REG