News   Jul 15, 2024
 605     1 

A controversial thread about handicapped people

Status
Not open for further replies.

StIdes

Member Bio
Reaction score
Now before I ask the question to everyone here that I'm going to ask I want you all to know that I have nothing against physically impaired people at all. I think they deserve rights as much as anyone else. That being said though, I have a problem with the way TTC has changed to help these people.

I think the TTC spends way to much money to cater to handicap. Honestly all of these low floor buses, proposed low floor streetcars, subways with wheel chair hookups, stations being retrofitted with elevators all cost a lot of money. Do the TTC see returns for this? From my observations I say no.

I have been riding the TTC for almost 30 years. To this day I have not ONCE seen someone use one of those wheel chair lockups on the subway. I have not even once seen someone with a wheel-chair get on a bus. Sure the low floor is nice for old people as they dont have to walk up the stairs. But they seem to do fine on the streetcars, and they were certainly doing it before the low floor buses came out. The only people I have ever seen using the elevators at stations are usually fat lazy looking people, not handicapped.

Look at how many more people those old fish bowl buses could fit on them. I dont have the exact numbers but im sure the use of low floor buses cuts a good amount of seats out of the bus. Why lose all these seats when handicap people NEVER ride?? The handicap have wheel trans. So why does every bus have to be a handicapped low floor bus (sorry bad pun)? Is losing 10 seats per bus because a handicap person might get on that bus 3 times in its service life worth it?