News   Jun 28, 2024
 1.5K     1 
News   Jun 28, 2024
 1.2K     1 
News   Jun 28, 2024
 545     1 

15 Denison Ave (n of Queen W, potential affordable housing)

AlbertC

Superstar
Member Bio
Reaction score
Potential for affordable housing at 15 Denison Ave mentioned in Councillor Joe Cressy's letter. The site is currently a parking lot north of Queen W.

I have been working with City staff since 2015 to find a way to make better use of these public lands, and I have been supporting ongoing conversations with the adjacent property owners, City Planning, Parks, Forestry and Recreation, and CreateTO since 2016. I hosted a pre-application public consultation meeting in March of 2017, attended by many area residents and businesses. The proposed 1,000 square metre public park will be the first new park of its size in the densest part of the neighbourhood since the area began to grow more than 20 years ago.

In addition, I am very pleased to see Recommendation 6, for CreateTO staff to report back to the Board in fall 2020 with a development plan for 15 Dension Avenue, near Queen Street West and Augusta Avenue. This could be the destination for the affordable housing funds unlocked at 105 Spadina Avenue. In 2018, I brought a Member Motion to City Council that directed City staff to explore affordable housing and cultural animation opportunities for 15 Denison Avenue, as an independent and/or joint development opportunity, and to report back with a conceptual design and feasibility plan. I continue to strongly support this direction and look forward to working with you on a project that builds much-needed affordable housing, supports our city's creative economy, and contributes to the vibrancy of Queen Street West.

1595387579039.png

Potential for affordable housing at 15 Denison Ave mentioned in Councillor Joe Cressy's letter. The site is currently a parking lot north of Queen W.

View attachment 258680

Relevant report to the latest CreateTO Board Mtg: