Toronto Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts | ?m | 5s | COC | Diamond Schmitt

Exterior-mounted screens reduce cooling costs more efficiently than interior screens and if they do fail ( each window has its own screen ) they can, presumably, be repaired. Summer can be windy too, but the screens don't flap in the wind - they descend, anchored to the window frames at the sides. And given how rarely they're used, will discolouration due to pollution be much of an issue?

What troubles me about that is that the architect took a good deal of time and energy in proposing a tremendous project - but didn’t consider the climate in which the building would be built. I studied architecture and this is a key factor when designing a building.

Second, our city design panel approved a project that could not be built, Who's not doing their homework?

Quick, quick, get down to Liebiskind's studio in New York City, and tell him he has to consider the climate in which the building will be built, because that's a key factor when designing a building! Be sure to remind him that you studied architecture. Hurry, before it's too late! The fate of the L Tower rests on your shoulders - his current design calls for a cladding system made of palm fronds!

Also, remind me again which "city design panel" it was that approved a building that could not be built?

Exterior-mounted screens reduce cooling costs more efficiently than interior screens and if they do fail ( each window has its own screen ) they can, presumably, be repaired. Summer can be windy too, but the screens don't flap in the wind - they descend, anchored to the window frames at the sides. And given how rarely they're used, will discolouration due to pollution be much of an issue?
I saw them flapping horribly in the wind last fall. The whole facade was vibrating as if caught in an epileptic seizure. Not very elegant or reassuring. Above all totally unnecessary. Would you hang exterior shades on the outside of your windows?