News   Mar 27, 2024
 1.1K     2 
News   Mar 27, 2024
 635     0 

Plagiarism and Influence in Architecture

spaced

Member Bio
Reaction score
Interesting article that I wanted to pass along here but couldn't find a fitting thread for it:

It really interested me since I'm a practicing artist and I also find legal battles over plagerism fascinating--like the Led Zepplin Stairway to Heaven case. ...oh and, I'm a huge architecture nerd.
It made me think a few things in architecture such as the sugar wharf Waterfront Innovation office building where they rejected a (arguably more attractive) proposal because the staircase looked similar to the new Ryerson building. ...oh, wait , ah, metro Toronto uni building.
It also made me wonder why more architect firms just use a nice clean template (there's or others) for multiples. For instance the average condo looks pretty generic these days anyways. Instead of some mediocre firm taking a stab at reinventing the wheel, why not just use an attractive (but not icon) building plans from another city. I guess you kind of see this in pre 1980's building, especially rental buildings, it's just curious that you don't see it anymore. I don't know if I'd like it myself, I like variety, but also hate an awkward building. Especially hate an awkward building from a new firm.

...anyways, I hope someone finds the article and subject as interesting as I did.

Last edited:
Here's a copy of the article:

"

What Is the Difference between Plagiarism and Inspiration? A Lawyer Explains​

Save this picture!

72-8.jpg