News   Apr 18, 2024
 254     0 
News   Apr 18, 2024
 1.8K     1 
News   Apr 18, 2024
 1.9K     4 

Islington Village / Six Points (Etobicoke)

M

mikejor

I'm new to the Islington village area and have noticed a few things...There is a new development going up at the corner of Dunbloor and Dundas, the first building is already up and almost complete. I believe 3 others are to follow all with some retail on the ground floor.

Does anyone have any info on the vacant land on the westside of dunbloor? I’m guessing that whatever happens there will depend on the six points remake? Would be great to see a grocery store there with maybe a condo atop of it.

Finally, on the northside of Dundas in Islington village is a string of retail strip malls, some decent restaurants there however it's just damn ugly. It would be huge for the neighbourhood to get rid of the parking lots and create parrallel meter parking. Anyone know if this has ever been talked about? Lots of potential in the area if things are done right.

Islington Village-Etobicoke

Thanks for the info Borgos. I kinda figured that all those stores were individually owned. I wonder, would those places be eligble for the facade improvement deal? Also you are right on that there are some great places on that stretch, that's definetly not the issue. The one major thing lacking in the area is a grocery store. I understand one used to be on the Dunbloor site before the current development. Hopefully the area will continue to improve, the addition of the Michael Power park is good to see but then on the corner of Resurection and Bloor I see a new parking lot. While maybe needed this is the sort of thing that will never improve the neighbourhood.