1K     1 
News   Apr 24, 2024
 1.6K     1 

Clearing snow from sidewalks

Beakster

Member Bio
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm fairly new to Toronto, and live on Crawford Street. My question is about where to put the snow you clear from the sidewalk outside your house.

I have street parking and always park my van in the street outside my house. Sometimes there isn't a spot right outside my house and I have to park a couple of houses up or down the street.

When I clear the snow from my sidewalk I always dump it onto my lawn. But one of my neighbours just pushes it onto the road. The other day I was parked outside of her house when I went to get my van in the morning I found a mound of snow about 50cm high in front of and behind my van. There was no way I was able to get it out like that, I had to get my snow shovel and dig it out. I didn't want to put the snow back on the sidewalk as she's just cleared it, and I didn't want to dump it in the middle of the road as that would have been a hazard to traffic so I dumped it on her lawn as it was right there. As the snow came from the road though it was pretty nasty, brown and salty stuff.

I can only assume she dumped it on front of my van so she wouldnt have this nasty snow making her front garden looking untidy, and although I haven't seen her since I am guessing she's not best pleased about it being there. This morning I had to park in the same spot again, where the was once again considerable snow on the road. Over night it froze and I had to spend 20 minutes this morning with a hammer breaking up the frozen snow so I could get my van out.

My question is.... where are you supposed to put the snow that comes off the sidewalk, and what is the correct action when someone buries the front of your vehicle in snow?

Thanks

Isn't that snow in front of your van just from the snowplows?